The Northampton Clown

Friday the 13th came and passed by with relatively little trouble. I’m not that superstitious however I do have a thing about walking over three adjoined drain covers. I don’t know if there is a story behind this or why on earth I must always do it, but that’s my one thing. I do however believe in the unexplainable and have my share of fears. It is because of the latter that I had to write about what I’ve read this afternoon online.

I very rarely take notice of the Social Media rush when it comes to silly and random stories. These are usually constructed in an attempt to drive up followers and likes. It is because of the close proximity and nature of this one that I had to take note and read about it. It is at this point that I would like to make my opinion known regarding this story, I find this truly fascinating and mysterious.

Since the aforementioned date there have been sightings of a Clown in the Abington and Kingsley areas of Northampton. The motive and understanding of why this is happening is unknown at the moment, however it has certainly divided opinion of people since its taken to Facebook.

20130915-144330.jpg
One of my personal fears is clowns, I have had this for as long as I have known. I can’t honestly understand why this is, but this story has sent shivers of nerves down my spine with a little hint of excitement. I personally love testing my fears and to live close to where this has started is almost like flirting with my fear itself.

The first article about this Clown appeared yesterday and confirmed that 3,000 people had liked their Facebook page titled:- Spot Northampton’s Clown. This figure has raised to over 7,000 in less than 24 hours. The reaction as mentioned earlier is mixed, but there appears to only be a minority against this so far. I can imagine that something like this can make people feel uncomfortable and this is where people’s true colors and characteristics show their face. After three days since the first published sighting, there have been photos taken at: St Michaels Road and Cedar Road in Northampton.

20130915-150306.jpg
I am sure this will gather pace and develop further as the days and nights pass but what do we know so far about this? Well from their Facebook Page it appears that this is purely a way to get noticed and coverage. So far there has not been anything reported to suggest this Clown is a danger. The last post on their Facebook Page went as far to put people’s minds to rest and joked that they needed exercise and were planning a jog around the pond in Abington Park. The whole story has also inherited its own Twitter hash tag #northamptonclown

My concern with this is that it will inevitably strike the wrong chord with someone and it could end up causing danger to the Clown itself. Some people have tried spreading rumors about the Clown carrying a knife, which has been immediately dismissed. Social Media is a dangerous animal and the power of a few choice words can be the fuel to any fire.

So my opinion? I think this is magical and very very mysterious. I love the fact it’s Halloween next month and this is providing a thrilling storyline leading up to the event. I think about how I’d react if I was to suddenly be greeted by this Clown or to see it as I am living my day to day life. I really hope that their Facebook page is used purely to post photos that other people have taken and to give a public update on their sightings. The one thing I hope for the most is that this story doesn’t end in an unpleasant way. I’m sure there will be another blog regarding this in the not too distant future. Beep Beep Sleep Safe ;-)

DarcyB

Posted on September 15, 2013, in Random, Real Life, Social Networking, Stories and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Second picture has clearly been Photoshopped.
    Clowns shadow is to the left, but shadow in nearby `goods inward` entrance is to the right.

    • Either way whoever is doing this is certainly putting a fantastic level of effort and mystery into it. It’s challenging most people’s imaginations. I see the clown has been back out tonight. Over 16,000 likes on their FB page is an impressive effort!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,201 other followers

